2013 Disneyland Half Marathon and Inaugural Dumbo Double Dare Challenge – Part II

50657650099The 2013 Disneyland Half Marathon and second part of the Inaugural Dumbo Double Dare Challenge was going to be a difficult run for me.  I was scared, not because I didn’t think I would finish, but because I was afraid my body would give out.

I was not trained sufficiently.  I had just come off major surgery and I wasn’t running with any of my “running buddies.”  My husband was concerned that lack of personal race support would be my downfall.  I thought that lack of personal race support would force me to “man up” and put on my big girl panties and rise to the occasion.431

Unbeknownst to him, I didn’t share with him my own insecurities because I didn’t want him to know how scared I was.  I didn’t want him to know that I was concerned that I couldn’t do it.  I didn’t want him to know that there was a chance he might have to pick me up at the hospital.  I kept telling him that I would take it slow and I would finish, it wouldn’t be spectacular, but I would “make it happen” and he better be waiting for me at the finish!

411So I quickly got rid of my negative thoughts.  Negative thoughts cannot help you in any way.  I made up my mind to be so freaking positive on my run that I would force a smile through grit-teeth.

My Tips for the Mind:

  1. Suppress the negatives:  The negatives are going to raise their ugly little heads, so redirect your thoughts.  Find other things to concentrate on.  I focused on the other runners – what they were wearing, cute outfits, costumes, etc.  I focused on the crowd support.  I focused on anything but myself and the miles just flew by.435
  2. Have a “Mantra”:  I try to have a different mantra each run because they are all different.  At Disneyland mine was “I am strong.”
  3. Break Up the Millage:  When you break the run up, it is not so overwhelming to your head.  The Disneyland Half Marathon is basically 4 runs.   1.)The first 4 miles in the park.  This is filled with excitement, characters and the miles go fast. 2.)Then the middle part – miles 4 through 9.  This is in the streets of Anaheim and there is plenty of crowd support to help you through!  3.)Angel Stadium – running around the bases!!!! 4.)The last 5K – from the stadium to the finish!466
  4. Smile through Grit Teeth!:  I have no idea why this helps, but if you just smile, you just seem to feel better!
  5. Keep Focused:  I put on my blinders, blocked everyone else out and just “ran.”  I tried to stay true to the 2 minute run/30 second walk intervals, but when I needed the extra time to take a rest, I took it!

484My 3rd consecutive Disneyland Half Marathon and first Dumbo Double Dare Challenge went off without a hitch!  I kept my focus and determination throughout the race.  My low point was the hissy fit with major expletives coming out of the Angel Stadium.  I had lost my footing and twisted my ankle, but I shrugged it off and kept running.

My Disneyland Half Marathon Race Highlights:

  1. The Team runDisney meet up prior to the race
  2. Being interviewed with runDisney TV’s Dennis Marisco
  3. Stopping at all the character stops in Disney California Adventure & Disneyland Park
  4. Running in the beautiful California weather (they said it was hot & humid, but it was normal for a Nutmegger).514
  5. Running through Angel Stadium – a highlight close to running through Sleeping Beauty Castle
  6. Stopping, hugging and kissing my family before the finish of the race!

I finished the Disneyland Half Marathon with a finish time of 3:01:33 – not too bad for stopping at all the character stops and having a bi-lateral mastectomy 4 weeks earlier!  The moral – believe it and you can do it!

7 Comments on “2013 Disneyland Half Marathon and Inaugural Dumbo Double Dare Challenge – Part II

  1. You are such an inspiration Kimberly! I almost got moved to tears watching you cross that finish line. Congratulations on Dumbo & C2C and hopefully one of these runDisney races I will get to finally meet you!

    Like

  2. Oh my goodness, I love love love your Dumbo outfit! It’s so cute, but looks running friendly. I must do a race at Disneyland one of these days. Looks amazing!

    Like

  3. Yes, you will! And my costume is coming together nicely!!! Just waiting for my Ink Burn items to arrive! Wine & Dine’s costume is locked up as well! Now to make Dwarf hats!!!!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Confessions from the Z-list – irunDisney | Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Leave a Reply

RunAllTheRaces

Share Perfect Goofy Gail & Kimberly's adventures as they runDisney and everything in between!

Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Embracing life with a bit of grace, a lot of perseverance and a positive attitude.

From Dancing to Running

Dancer Turned Runner Running My Way Through Life!

margaritasmilesmouse

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Serendipity

Life is full of suprises

