Disney’s MagicBand Review

002Prior to my The Twilight Zone Tower of Terror trip, I was invited to take part in the beta test of Disney’s MagicBand program.  A MagicBand is a wristband that is a room key, park ticket, Fast Pass, PhotoPass and charge card!

011I was staying at Disney’s Port Orleans French Quarter and had received both an email and mailed invitation to register for My Disney Experience.  Here I would access my room reservation, check-in, make dining reservations and FastPass+ selections.  I would then be able to view these reservations on my smart phone using the My Disney Experience app.

147Setting up the MagicBand to my Annual Pass turned out to be a challenge.  The system did not recognize the Annual Pass as valid park admission.  Also, the Annual Pass was reading as expired.  I called the assistance 800-number and was transferred to Disney Vacation Club for Annual Pass assistance.  I was then transferred to My Disney Experience support.  I received multiple phone calls on the status of the problem until it was determined that they would override the system and issue FastPass+ for me manually.

MagicBand worn with RoadID during runDisney race

MagicBand worn with RoadID during runDisney race

Using the MagicBand was easy!  I had heard stories to carry my room key in case there was issues , but I didn’t have any.  I was able to access my resort room easily – it was actually easier than struggling to find my room key.

I was able to easily pay for food and merchandise in the parks and at the runDisney expo.  I was able to easily capture my PhotoPass photos!  Plus I was able to enter the parks and use my FastPass+.

109I ran both the runDisney Happy Haunted 5K Trail Run and The Twilight Zone Tower of Terror 10 Miler with my MagicBand on.  It did not irritate me nor was I worried about it falling off.  They are waterproof and my sweat did not seem to affect the band.  Disney does sell accessories so you may customize your band.  Each band is inscribed with your name.

My next Walt Disney World trip is coming up soon.  My husband and I are attending runDisney’s Wine and Dine Half Marathon Weekend.  60-days out I received an email and mail invitation to participate in the beta test.

003I have already received my MagicBands for this trip.  I have tried to make FastPass+ reservations, but again I am encountering a known problem with my Annual Pass.  No worries, I know Disney will take good care of me!

152

Using MagicBands entering EPCOT

Using MagicBands entering EPCOT

TestTrack MagicBand

TestTrack MagicBand

2 Comments on “Disney’s MagicBand Review

Leave a Reply

RunAllTheRaces

Share Perfect Goofy Gail & Kimberly's adventures as they runDisney and everything in between!

Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Embracing life with a bit of grace, a lot of perseverance and a positive attitude.

From Dancing to Running

Dancer Turned Runner Running My Way Through Life!

margaritasmilesmouse

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Serendipity

Life is full of suprises

