2013 – Out with the Old and In with the New!

medalsI was having dinner with one of my BFF’s and she said was glad to see 2013 go because it was a crappy year.  I couldn’t disagree more!  Actually, 2013 all-in-all was a very good year.  Sure I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer in July, but other than loosing my boobs, hair and having chemo – it was a fantastic year!  Here’s my race recap for 2013 and more importantly what I learned!

Joey Fatone with ME! 2013 WDW Half Marathon

Joey Fatone with ME! 2013 WDW Half Marathon

25 Races Completed!  This includes 4 marathons (2 World Marathon Majors), 8 half marathons and 15 runDisney medals to add to my collection!

  • Favorite Race of 2013:  Disneyland 5K because it was the 1st race back from my bi-lateral mastectomy and my entire family ran together!
  • Favorite Course of 2013:  Disneyland 10K because it ran through both Disneyland and Disney California Adventure plus through Sleeping Beauty Castle!

    My family just after completing the 2013 Disneyland Family 5K, but prior to the 10K!

    My family just after completing the 2013 Disneyland Family 5K, but prior to the 10K!

  • Favorite Medal of 2013:  Flying Pig Marathon because of the pig butt – so cute!
  • Ugliest Medal of 2013:  Bank of America Chicago Marathon
  • Epic Fail of 2013:  Quassy Rev3 70.3 – I promise I will train and pick an easier course next time!
  • Epic Race of 2013:  Running the New York City Marathon and never hitting the wall!

What I learned:

  1. Never let anyone talk you into giving up.
  2. Running a race with family & friends is simply outstanding.
  3. You can’t get the results you want unless you put in the hard work.
  4. You can do anything you want if you set your mind to it.
  5. Tomorrow’s a fresh start!
Merle, Joe & I - 2013 Wine and Dine Half Marathon

Merle, Joe & I – 2013 Wine and Dine Half Marathon

3 Comments on “2013 – Out with the Old and In with the New!

  1. Your words are an inspiration to many. 2013 could be the worst year for me because of my divorce and loss of income, but I don’t see it that way. It was a year of growth and self-reliance. I’m finally happy! God bless you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

RunAllTheRaces

Share Perfect Goofy Gail & Kimberly's adventures as they runDisney and everything in between!

Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Embracing life with a bit of grace, a lot of perseverance and a positive attitude.

From Dancing to Running

Dancer Turned Runner Running My Way Through Life!

margaritasmilesmouse

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Serendipity

Life is full of suprises

