2014 Walt Disney World Inaugural 10K – Part II of the Dopey Challenge

With Tara Gidus and According to Kelly...

With Tara Gidus and According to Kelly…

I was really excited about the 2014 WDW Inaugural 10K because this would be my 10-year old daughter’s first 10K (6.2 miles) and first real medal.  Yes, she would graduate from the plastic medallion of the 5K to an actual Minnie Mouse medal!  It would also be her first back to back race – having completed the WDW Family Fun Run the day prior!

Linda Ambard and I with Biggest Loser Winner, Ali Vincent

Linda Ambard and I with Biggest Loser Winner, Ali Vincent

The 2014 WDW Inaugural 10K’s start would be the same as the 5K the day prior.  Our start time would begin 45 minutes earlier at 5:30am.  We would start and finish in Epcot, but the course would run out the Epcot toll booths, turn back on Epcot Center Drive towards Epcot and then turn right and enter the park on Backstage Lane near Test Track.  It would then run around World Showcase, out onto Boardwalk and around Disney’s Yacht and Beach Club Resort before running back into Epcot through Future World and finishing in Explore Parking Lot.

153We were running with my friend, Alison and we had a great time with each other.  Alison was my support system to get Kathryn through the race and actually pick up her pace from death march to a quick shuffle!  When she picked up the pace, she began having fun somewhere around Mile 2.  And although she is very happy with her accomplishment, at this time only wants to race 5K’s!

We did take the 10K slow, since Alison and I were both running the Dopey Challenge and took almost 2 hours to finish with both bathroom and photo opportunities.  Did we have fun?  Yes!!  Would we do it again?  I would definitely do it again as part of a challenge.  I don’t think the course warrants the price tag without some modifications in entertainment or actual course.

Finishers of the WDW Inaugural 10K

Finishers of the WDW Inaugural 10K

I must say that when runDisney unveiled this new course I was not impressed.  Now having run this course, I’m still not impressed.  I thought it boring, lacked character and entertainment and frankly I expected more for the $95 price tag.  Yes, the tech shirt (woman’s fit) was great and the Minnie medal beautiful, but the course was a big blah for me.  I enjoyed the jaunt around Boardwalk and Beach Club, but other than that…..nope, still a thumbs down.  This month’s Princess Disney Enchanted 10K shares the same course, so it will be interesting to see what type of modifications, if any, runDisney makes.

What did you think of the WDW Inaugural 10K course?  Thumbs up?  Thumbs down?

6 Comments on “2014 Walt Disney World Inaugural 10K – Part II of the Dopey Challenge

  1. I too was a bit disappointed with the 10k course and lack of entertainment. Hopefully they’ll turn things around a bit this month with the entertainment for the Enchanted 10k. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts/comparison of the two races!

    Like

  2. I’m hoping for the Enchanted 10k that there might be a few princesses out along the way. I didn’t really get to enjoy the loop around the boardwalk so hopefully this time I will!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Confessions from the Z-list – irunDisney | Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Leave a Reply

RunAllTheRaces

Share Perfect Goofy Gail & Kimberly's adventures as they runDisney and everything in between!

Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Embracing life with a bit of grace, a lot of perseverance and a positive attitude.

From Dancing to Running

Dancer Turned Runner Running My Way Through Life!

margaritasmilesmouse

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Serendipity

Life is full of suprises

