Confessions from the Z-list – irunDisney

Last November I was invited to share my story of why I run the runDisney races for their irunDisney campaign.  I received a telephone call runDisney would be coming to my home to document my story of running the runDisney races while undergoing breast cancer treatment.

Filming with fresh snow...

Filming with fresh snow…

All I had to do was “be myself.”  The story would be shot in two parts – a home interview and then filming during the runDisney race weekend.  In my case, the 2014 Walt Disney World Marathon weekend where I would be running the Inaugural Dopey Challenge the week following my final breast cancer chemotherapy.

Unfortunately, the shoot was scheduled for Tuesday following a chemotherapy treatment which meant that I would either be sick, exhausted OR sick and exhausted.  Never-the-less, when runDisney says they are coming to interview you, you get ready to be interviewed.  Mother Nature even cooperated providing fresh falling snow!

034

 

Bob Hitchcock, PR Manager/Content Producer – runDisney, and his cameraman arrived to set up at 7am.  Being an avid runDisney fan, a 7am call-time seemed late by their normal standards!

I was filmed making my children breakfast and sending them off to school.  I have to say they were the most well-behaved children I ever had the pleasure of making breakfast for in the morning.

With JoLynne, Pam, Nicole, Alison, and Janice

With JoLynne, Pam, Nicole, Alison, and Janice

Next my running friends and I went for a short run around my neighborhood.  Although it was slick and icy we had a great time in the fresh dusting of snow.  The little run was really hard (for me) because I was exhausted from the chemo treatment, but I made it through. The hardest part was trying not to huff and puff in the microphone!

Low budget action shots

Low budget action shots

Soon the outside fun was over and we headed back inside for interviews!  I was interviewed first and then my husband.  I shared why I run, its importance to me and celebrating finishing chemotherapy at the Dopey Challenge.

We wrapped the home interviews and then moved on to my doctor’s office to film.  It was a long, tiring day, but I really enjoyed and appreciated being able to share my story and love of runDisney.  Click here for the official story. 

 

runDisney Races run during Breast Cancer Treatment to Date:

  1. 2013 Disneyland Family Fun Run 5K
  2. 2013 Disneyland Dumbo Double Dare Challenge (10K and Half Marathon)
  3. 2013 Happy Haunted 5K Trail Run
  4. 2013 Tower of Terror 10-Miler
  5. 2013 Mickey’s Jingle Jungle 5K
  6. 2013 Wine and Dine Half Marathon
  7. 2014 Dopey Challenge (5K, 10K, Half and Full Marathon)
  8. 2014 Never Land Family Fun 5K
  9. 2014 Tinker Bell 10K
  10. 2014 Tinker Bell Half Marathon
  11. 2014 Disney Royal Family 5K
  12. 2014 Glass Slipper Challenge (10K and Half Marathon)

I’m currently registered to run ALL of runDisney in 2014 with my pal, Perfect Goofy Gail (with the exception of Expedition Everest Weekend – hint, hint).  I am still currently in treatment for breast cancer and hope to complete treatment in time to celebrate at runDisney’s The Twilight Zone Tower of Terror 10-Miler Weekend!

 

 

 

9 Comments on “Confessions from the Z-list – irunDisney

  1. Thank you, Kim for sharing your stories…all of them. I am so glad to have gotten to spend time with you at the Flying Pig last May….and believe me, this interview was so YOU, through and through. You are an inspiration. Blessings to you and Jack, and the kids! The worst is behind you!

    Like

  2. Great interview, Kimberly! I got a similar “Ummmm….OhhKayyyy” from my Onc when telling her I was going to do the Dopey to celebrate finishing my chemo. Tell your Onc she’s not alone! 🙂 And you aren’t either! Here’s to running with hair!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so glad runDisney chose to share your story, you did a beautiful job in the interview. Hope to see you at some races coming up!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Big things seem to come in 3′s… | Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Leave a Reply

RunAllTheRaces

Share Perfect Goofy Gail & Kimberly's adventures as they runDisney and everything in between!

Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Embracing life with a bit of grace, a lot of perseverance and a positive attitude.

From Dancing to Running

Dancer Turned Runner Running My Way Through Life!

margaritasmilesmouse

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Serendipity

Life is full of suprises

