Tips for Registering for the 2015 Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend

Finishers of the Inaugural Dopey Challenge

Finishers of the Inaugural Dopey Challenge

TOMORROW at 12pm EST Early Registration opens for the 2015 runDisney Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend – January  7-11, 2015!  Early registration is for Annual Pass Holders Walt Disney World  and Disney Vacation Club MembersThe Runner’s World Challenge registration is currently open.

On Tuesday, April 22 ,2015 at 12pm EST General Registration opens for the 2015 runDisney Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend.

The list of Weekend Events are listed below and in my opinion I believe the Goofy Challenge will sell out first.  2015 will mark the 10th Anniversary for the Goofy Challenge.  When I registered way back in 2009 for the 5th anniversary in 2010, this event sold out first and fast!  My best guess for the second race to sell out would be the Dopey Challenge.

This will be my 7th consecutive Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend and I plan on running my 7th WDW Marathon, my 6th Goofy Challenge and my 2nd Dopey Challenge.  I have participated in all the races and my children have also run the Kids Races.  Obviously, I love Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend.  It is a fantastic event that supports elite as well as the beginner runners.  If you are thinking about running, don’t think – just register!  If you hesitate it might be SOLD OUT.

Finishers of the Inaugural WDW 10K

Finishers of the Inaugural WDW 10K

When I first began running Disney, registration was not a crazy event, but since registration has become a competitive sport, I have a few suggestions and tips to share.

Registration Tips: 

  1. Know your Active.com account and password prior to 12pm – EST.  If you do not have a Active.com account and password please register one prior to 12pm today!
  2. Remember to stay calm and block off your calendar and silence your phone for no distractions!
  3. Know which races you are planning to register for today PLUS your time for corral placement.
  4. If you are registering others, have their home address, date of birth, In Case of an Emergency Contact Name and Number and time for corral placement.
  5. Have your credit card available for serious damage!

Registering for races is getting to be stressful!  Good luck and see YOU at the runDisney Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend in January!

Before the WDW Family Fun Run 5K

Before the WDW Family Fun Run 5K

 

5 Comments on “Tips for Registering for the 2015 Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend

  1. Pingback: 2015 Walt Disney World Marathon Pre-Registration is Now Open | Why I runDisney

  2. I’m completely scared but I think I’m gonna do it! I’m planning on registering for my first marathon and am considering Goofy if it’s not sold out by the time I get to register. Is that insane to do Goofy during my first marathon? I have done a half before and didn’t think it was that bad. I may have to walk a lot of the half just to keep my energy for the full. I can do that right? It’s not about time, it’s about finishing!

    Like

  3. Here’s my thoughts on that – yes, you can do anything you set your mind to do! And I know that my pal, Perfectly Goofy Gail, ran her 1st Goofy Challenge without having done a full marathon prior. I, however, don’t recommend it, but yes, it can be done if you train. You HAVE TO TRAIN. You can find the Jeff Galloway training plans on the runDisney website. Good luck and keep us posted on what you decide!!!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Registering for the Disney Princess Half Marathon (or 50 Crazy Things in my 50th Year) | she runs with pens

Leave a Reply

RunAllTheRaces

Share Perfect Goofy Gail & Kimberly's adventures as they runDisney and everything in between!

Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Embracing life with a bit of grace, a lot of perseverance and a positive attitude.

From Dancing to Running

Dancer Turned Runner Running My Way Through Life!

margaritasmilesmouse

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Serendipity

Life is full of suprises

