Boston Marathon Expo 2014

Following two runners into the convention center

Following two runners into the convention center

I had my 13th breast cancer treatment today and during that time I decided I would take the kids and drive up to Boston to attend the 2014 Boston Marathon Expo.  Heck why not, I had nothing better to do except laundry, clean the house and dye Easter eggs.

With my coach Jeff Galloway and being told to follow his plan and recover from surgery

With my coach Jeff Galloway and being told to follow his plan and recover from surgery

Since beginning running, I hadn’t given Boston much thought.  Boston Qualifying seemed like a far off unattainable dream.  I knew the super-fast runners in my running group all took the Hartford Track Club bus up to run Boston every year.  I never thought I could even think about running Boston without a charity bib.

Then I got cancer.

Then I ran the Chicago Marathon.

Then I ran the NYC Marathon.

Both while undergoing chemotherapy treatment.

It’s then I realized I could anything I damn well wanted to do.

After the New York City Marathon and Wine & Dine Half Marathon I decided I was going to make the goal to Boston Qualify.  At Wine and Dine Half Marathon I spoke with Jeff Galloway about BQ’ing and e-coaching.  He’s been my coach ever since.  He coached me through the Dopey Challenge, Tinker Bell and Princess Half Marathon Weekends.  And now we are beginning our training to Boston Qualify for 2016.

So today’s journey wasn’t about celebrating running Boston for me – because I’m not there…yet.  Today’s journey was about getting inspired to train and train hard.  My BQ time is 3:45.  My current marathon PR is 4:59:22 at the 2012 Walt Disney World Marathon (as part of the Goofy Challenge with the 5K).  It’s only an hour, but it is going to be hard work and I’m ready to take on the goal.  Boston – see you in 2016!

The finish of the 2014 Boston Marathon - it's not my year to cross the finish line and that's okay.

The finish of the 2014 Boston Marathon – it’s not my year to cross the finish line and that’s okay.

6 Comments on “Boston Marathon Expo 2014

  1. I have been toying with the idea of working my way up to qualifying as my cousin is there to run this weekend. Good luck with your training and maybe we will luck out and both qualify by 2016! 🙂 Good luck and can’t wait to watch you succeed!
    ~Lisa

    Like

  2. You are very inspiring, Kimberly. I am here in Boston with my hubby who BQ’d. Been telling myself I’ll never get there – afraid to hope and fail. But, hell’s bells! If you can set your sights on Boston, than so can I! Thank you!

    Like

  3. Pingback: My Favorite Running and Disney Podcasts | Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Leave a Reply

RunAllTheRaces

Share Perfect Goofy Gail & Kimberly's adventures as they runDisney and everything in between!

Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Embracing life with a bit of grace, a lot of perseverance and a positive attitude.

From Dancing to Running

Dancer Turned Runner Running My Way Through Life!

margaritasmilesmouse

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Serendipity

Life is full of suprises

