Mother Bear: You just can’t argue with crazy…

Image

The kids and I then went out to dinner after our activities tonight.  My husband was working late finishing up projects.

We were seated next to a man eating alone.  Instantly got a funny feeling about him, but sat down.  While the kids went to wash their hands, I ordered and was on my phone catching up on emails, texts, Facebook posts, etc. – minding my own business.

Once the kids came back I put down my phone, but then picked it up as it buzzed.  The man came over to our table and said, “are those your kids?”  I was expecting a compliment, because I always get compliments on how well behaved my children are, but as soon as I began to answer he cut me off.

“Put the phone away.  Put the phone away. J__C__ put the phone away and pay attention to your kids!”  I was taken aback and utterly shocked!  Now granted, I am always on my phone, but that’s not for HIM to say.  He doesn’t know me from Adam.  And he has no right to use that type of language and tone with me and around my kids.

So I got up and went over to his table.  I said very calmly and in an authoritative tone, “I don’t like being spoken to in that matter.” However, he was now yelling and pointing his finger in my face basically verbally attacking me repeating over and over. “Put your phone away” and something else, but I couldn’t hear him because I was giving it right back to him. “Get your finger out of my face and don’t you dare speak to me like that!”

Realizing I couldn’t win an argument with a bully, and I didn’t want my children to see me completely lose my patience with this jackass, I turned to sit back down.  But heard him say, “Where’s your husband anyway? Oh, you aren’t married?  No, of course not!”

It was right then and there I realized I was targeted by a bully.  He didn’t care who I was or what I was about.  All he wanted to do was pick on someone he perceived as weak and start a fight.

The manager came over and asked him to leave.  The manager also came over to see if I was okay.  The hostess who witnessed the entire scene came over to apologize and hug me.  But all I cared about were my children.  I wanted to show them:

  1. You must stand up for yourself
  2. You cannot argue with crazy
  3. You must remain calm, but stand your ground

I hope I was good role model for my children tonight.  If there’s anything positive I can take away from this experience it will be a higher level of consciousness to disconnect around my loved ones.   Who knows, maybe the bully even learned something, but I highly doubt it.

Have you ever been bullied?  What did you learn from the experience?  

2 Comments on “Mother Bear: You just can’t argue with crazy…

  1. I am so sorry you had to go through that- that would have completely taken me off guard as well- you handled it beautifully- better to take the high road. Although I’ve never had something like that happen, I have dealt with crazy and understand that there is no resolving issues with people like this. Some people are too narcissistic to change–when they look in the mirror, they only see that they are right and others are wrong. This guys sounds bitter, and delusional. Sending hugs and prayers to you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

RunAllTheRaces

Share Perfect Goofy Gail & Kimberly's adventures as they runDisney and everything in between!

Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Embracing life with a bit of grace, a lot of perseverance and a positive attitude.

From Dancing to Running

Dancer Turned Runner Running My Way Through Life!

margaritasmilesmouse

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Serendipity

Life is full of suprises

