Jeff Galloway’s e-Coaching

077During runDisney‘s 2013 Wine and Dine Expo, I had the opportunity to once again speak with Barbara and Jeff Galloway.  I told Jeff I was interested in his e-Coaching program in order to quality for Boston.  For those non runners, BQ or Boston Qualifying is a major running honor.  One cannot simply register for the Boston Marathon.  One must EARN the right to run in this World Major Marathon.

With Jeff and Nicole 2014 Walt Disney World Marathon Expo

With Jeff and Nicole 2014 Walt Disney World Marathon Expo

I had learned of Jeff’s e-coaching program from listening to Mike and Michelle on the Mickey Miles Podcast.  Jeff was e-coaching Michelle for the Inaugural Dopey Challenge.

I had been using the Galloway run/walk/run method since my first Goofy Challenge in 2010, where I took 20 minutes off my marathon time.  Jeff knew of my determination to race while undergoing treatment for breast cancer.  Instead of waiting for recovery, we began our e-coaching right away planning training around my chemotherapy treatments to run the Dopey Challenge, #runalltheraces at Tinker Bell and Princess Half Marathon Weekends.

And I am so glad I enlisted his help.  The New York City Marathon turned out to be my last long run prior to the Dopey Challenge.  I was following his plan as best I could considering the circumstances, but due to the chemotherapy, I was exhausted.  Below are my assigned workouts and my notes back to Jeff on my progress:

WEEKEND WORKOUT – December 19:
Distance assigned for this weekend:  Dec 19—3 mile walk, Dec 20—5 mile walk, Dec 21—10 mile walk, Dec 22—26 miles at 20/20 or 15/15
Distance actually run: Dec 19th 4.74 walk, Dec 20th 6.85 walk, Dec 21st 12.95walk, Dec 22nd 1.61 – and exhausted
Pace assigned:  Pace actually run: walked between a 14.20-15.38 pace
Run-walk-run ratio assigned:  walk or 20/20  Ratio used: walked
Temperature during the run: between 32 and 40-degrees
Any aches/pains? I was exhausted. It turns out my red blood cell levels are low therefore – exhaustion. I didn’t get my 26 miles in which worries me slightly.

With Jeff prior to the start of the 2014 WDW Marathon

With Jeff prior to the start of the 2014 WDW Marathon

WEEKEND WORKOUTDecember 29:
Distance assigned for this weekend:  4 miles Distance actually run: 8.20 miles
Pace assigned:  Pace actually run: walked 17.05pace
Run-walk-run ratio assigned:  Ratio used: walked
Temperature during the run: between 36 and 40-degrees
Any aches/pains? I’m coming out of my exhaustion. Today is Monday and I ran 3 miles. RAN it not walked. My 6th chemo is Friday and Dopey is going to be a challenge. I will see you at the expo on Wednesday!

With Perfect Goofy Gail, Jeff Galloway and Yanni Robel

With Perfect Goofy Gail, Jeff Galloway and Yanni Robel – 2014 Tinker Bell Half Marathon

Here’s Jeff’s response: 

Kimberly,

Don’t worry about not getting in the 26 miler. If you will mostly walk the half on Saturday (or 10 sec run/50 sec walk), and do the same in the marathon for the first 20 miles you should be fine, conditioning wise.

Get your doctor’s input on the Chemo on Friday. Take it really easy this week. Keep your immune system at the highest level possible.

You only need to use 10/50 for 20 minutes every other day between now and Dopey.

Have a great New Year!!

It turns out I had to walk most of the Dopey Challenge, but I did finish upright with a smile on my face.  Jeff was right there coaching me each morning.  I made it through Tink and Princess without issue and without injury.

On February 25th I went back into surgery.  Jeff’s been coaching me through recovery.  And it’s been more mental coaching then physical coaching.

With Jeff prior to Providence - preparing myself for a 3.5 hr Half

With Jeff prior to Providence – preparing myself for a 3.5 hr Half

Yes, at times I have felt he’s been holding me back (PityPartyofOne), but now I know it’s so I can fully recover before he puts me through my paces (ItPaystoListentoYourCoach).

So would I recommend Jeff’s e-coaching? Yes, but only if you are:

  1. Committed to your goal
  2. Willing to listen to your coach
  3. Do the training

3 Comments on “Jeff Galloway’s e-Coaching

  1. Pingback: Disney Wine and Dine Half Marathon Training

Leave a Reply

RunAllTheRaces

Share Perfect Goofy Gail & Kimberly's adventures as they runDisney and everything in between!

Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Embracing life with a bit of grace, a lot of perseverance and a positive attitude.

From Dancing to Running

Dancer Turned Runner Running My Way Through Life!

margaritasmilesmouse

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Serendipity

Life is full of suprises

