Which to Choose – Castaway Cay 5K or Star Wars 5K

I awoke this morning, got up, woke up the kids and went downstairs to make breakfast and pack lunches. I heard my phone dinging (meaning I had a text message), but thought nothing of it. Then another ding…but I resisted the urge to check my phone. It wasn’t until the kids were on the bus that I picked up my phone to see a runDisney tweet – #LetTheWookieeWin

I immediately got on Twitter to read, “A distance measured in Parsecs #runDisney #StarWars #LetTheWookieeWin.”

After some quick calculations, and without drinking my morning coffee, I figured out the race was a 13.1, but where and when. Soon runDisney spilled the beans – January 15-18, 2015 on the west coast in Disneyland Resort.

Sigh……

Not sigh that there’s another race, but sigh because I had just registered for the Inaugural Castaway Cay 5K on FRIDAY! And sigh there hasn’t been any communication from runDisney on how some of their best and craziest customers can #RunAllTherunDisneyRaces!!

Before you jump down my throat – yes, I know this is a #firstworldproblem and a stupid problem to have, but give the girl who has been undergoing breast cancer treatment a break – it’s these stupid problems that keep my mind off the real problems that I am dealing with daily!!

It’s a logistical problem.  I am running my 2nd Dopey Challenge from January 8-11th. The Disney Cruise, Dream will set sail on January 12th for a 4 night cruise with the Inaugural Castaway Cay 5K on Wednesday, January 14th. The Dream doesn’t arrive back into port until Friday, January 16th at 7:30am EST.  Star Wars Half Marathon Weekend begins on Thursday, January 15th with the 5K on Friday at 5:30am!!!  There is absolutely no way to #RunAllTherunDisneyRaces and this saddens me.

Sadly, I shake my head. Why oh why runDisney did you not take into account that nutballs like me and Perfectly Goofy Gail would want to runDisney – ALL OF runDisney’s races.

So what to do, what to do….do I skip the Inaugural Castaway Cay 5K to run the Star Wars 5K – I need to make a choice and you may laugh, but for me it’s a tough choice to make!

Are you going to run #StarWarsHalf and #LetTheWookieeWin?

19 Comments on “Which to Choose – Castaway Cay 5K or Star Wars 5K

  1. I have to say that I thought of you almost immediately Kim; this announcement seems to be a #runalltheraces deal breaker. I’ll admit that I was holding out for this announcement- the hole the Tinker Bell Half left behind was begging to be filled with Jabberwockies. BUT, when the Inaugural Castaway Cay 5K was announced I was kicking myself. I wish I could counsel you. There’s just too much runDisney goodness packed into the upcoming race season!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Go with your gut! Are you are a bit of a Star Wars nut? Will you be kicking yourself if you miss the Star Wars one, even though you’ll be on an amazing cruise? I know what I would chose but that’s because I don’t have any connection to Star Wars (I was an X-files nerd instead), I’d oh traditional disney. But that’s just me, go with what will make your heart sing

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t know what to do either! I am think I will do Castaway Cay as I have already paid for it and put a deposit on the cruise and then hopefully be able to fly over and still do the Rebel Challenge. I am hoping RunDisney might have some kind of Saturday morning pre race packet pick up for all us nuts coming straight from the Castaway Cay Challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My daughter is a big star wars fan so we were super bummed this race was at Disney Land! We were hoping for expedition everest weekend in WDW which is always her birthday weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Star Wars without a doubt. Castaway Cay 5K will always be there. There is no theming or fireworks. I’d pass on this and head to CA if I could. This will be an inaugural race to remember.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I know!!!! Part of me wants to do the cruise with Gail and lay back and have a great time, but another part of me wants to run the 5K with the kids! We will be running Star Wars weekend regardless!

    Like

  7. Either way you’ll have a great time! It was a bit disheartening that the news for both of the new race/weekends (Castaway Cay Challenge and Star Wars Weekend) weren’t announced a bit earlier, so people could choose which they would prefer to do (rather than announce, have to register within a week, and then announce another that conflicts with the first). I’m not sure what the reasoning behind that was, but I’m sure runDisney had one.

    If I had the option, I think I would do the cruise and relax, run the Castaway Cay 5k (to get the 5k and the Challenge medallion and medal), then head out to California Friday when the cruise disembarks for the Stars Wars 10k and half to get those 3 medals 🙂 That way, you’d get an extra medal 😉

    Like

  8. Pingback: Race Report: 2015 runDisney Inaugural Star Wars 5K | Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Leave a Reply

RunAllTheRaces

Share Perfect Goofy Gail & Kimberly's adventures as they runDisney and everything in between!

Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Embracing life with a bit of grace, a lot of perseverance and a positive attitude.

From Dancing to Running

Dancer Turned Runner Running My Way Through Life!

margaritasmilesmouse

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Serendipity

Life is full of suprises

