Cancer Lesson #52: Most People Don’t Care Whether You Have Hair

This is a great read for those battling cancer and are experiencing hair loss.

Keeping A-Breast: Cancer Lessons

Cancer Lesson #52: Most people don’t care whether you have hair.

It was summer when I was in chemo, and as I said before, wigs are hot. So even though I saw Grandpa Byrd every time I looked in the mirror – minus the glasses and wad of chewing tobacco – mine adorned the newel post of our steps more often than my head.

Having chosen comfort before fashion many years ago, I usually wore a baseball cap when I went out of the house.

That’s how I learned what happens when a bald woman goes out in public.

The answer is not much.

I expected some staring and pointing. Maybe even lights and sirens.

But no one gawped. In fact, no one seemed to notice.

Even the children – who might understandably wonder about someone who looks a little different – took it in their stride.

I was just…

View original post 423 more words

One Comment on “Cancer Lesson #52: Most People Don’t Care Whether You Have Hair

Leave a Reply

RunAllTheRaces

Share Perfect Goofy Gail & Kimberly's adventures as they runDisney and everything in between!

Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Embracing life with a bit of grace, a lot of perseverance and a positive attitude.

From Dancing to Running

Dancer Turned Runner Running My Way Through Life!

margaritasmilesmouse

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Serendipity

Life is full of suprises

