Amica Iron Horse Half Marathon Race Report

My Iron Horse Tech, Race Bib and NU Hartford Marathon Bag

My Iron Horse Tech, Race Bib and NU Hartford Marathon Bag

Sunday, June 1st I ran my 4th 3rd Amica Iron Horse Half Marathon. I had run the race in 2010 and 2011.  In 2012 during mile 7; I tore my TFL and did not finish.  I was out for 3 months recovering. In 2013, I decided to take a break from the event.  However, this year as a member of Team HMF, I decided to run the race once again.

Team HMF representing before the start

Team HMF representing before the start

Iron Horse has something for all levels of running including the kids!  There are 3 different races – the Half Marathon, 5k and 10K!  Also, the kids can race a ¼ mile, ½ mile, and one-mile event.  It’s a popular race and this year the Half, 5k and 10K were all sold out!  Tip – next year register EARLY!

Iron Horse would be my 1st race the doctor allowed me to run (the entire event) post op.  However, my coach advised me to take it easy and not to push myself.  My race plan was to run 2 minutes and walk 30 seconds.  The weather was beautiful and the temperature was perfect for running.  I met my BFF, Nicole, at the start.  This was her first time running this event and we decided we would begin the race together and whatever happened, happened.

Glastonbury River Runners before the start

Glastonbury River Runners before the start

I forgot how much I enjoyed the course.  It’s a scenic course over rolling hills and flat stretches.  If you are a back of the pack runner, you’ll be able to see the leaders pass you 3 times!!!  But don’t get discouraged, because there’s plenty of racers of all abilities, you will not be alone.  As I said, I was running with Nicole and we were having a grand time in the back of the pack!

Our Miss Connecticut running for Team Achilles during the 10K

Our Miss Connecticut running for Team Achilles during the 10K

I started out a little too fast for Nicole, so I decided not to ditch her.  I decided to pace her and asked for her Half Marathon PR because she was running well.  Her PR was  2:47.  At the speed we were running, I knew we could get her a new PR.  And I was right – we got her a 10 minute PR when we finished at 2:37:38!  Moral – if you aren’t going to PR, help someone else PR!

Have you ever helped someone else PR a race?  Who was it and do you feel proud of that PR as well?

With Nicole at the finish with a new PR earned!

With Nicole at the finish with a new PR earned!

 

One Comment on “Amica Iron Horse Half Marathon Race Report

  1. Pingback: Mother Bear: Running to Stand Still | Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Leave a Reply

RunAllTheRaces

Share Perfect Goofy Gail & Kimberly's adventures as they runDisney and everything in between!

Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Embracing life with a bit of grace, a lot of perseverance and a positive attitude.

From Dancing to Running

Dancer Turned Runner Running My Way Through Life!

margaritasmilesmouse

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Serendipity

Life is full of suprises

