Learning & Growing: My Big Disney Social Media Mom’s “Aha Moment”

011

I just returned from the Disney Social Media Moms On the Road Conference in Philadelphia.  I learned a lot and met many new friends as well as reconnected with old!

020I attend the Disney Social Media Moms conference not only because I love all things Disney, but to learn what is new in the Parks, but more importantly, to get re-energized.  Tomorrow I will share a recap, but tonight I want to leave you with my one, as Oprah likes to say, “Aha moment.”

050The Mom’s panel made up of Mom Business Owners, Amy Bradley, @toydozer, Toydozer Kristi Gorinas, Dad Pack Jen Groover, @jengroover, Butler Bag and Maria Bailey, @MomTalkRadio, MomTV.com were sharing their lessons learned of being a Mom business owner.   Their big tip:

Be present with your kids and loved ones. 

Then Maria Bailey said, “look into the whites of their eyes and let them know that you are listening.”

That’s it.  Simple enough – no?

No, not really, but because a photo my daughter took of my husband and I on one of our many Walt Disney World vacations I know how hard it is to be present.

January 2012 on the bus to the Magic Kingdom - I'm registering for the lottery to get into the NYC Marathon - I'm not sure what Jack's doing...

January 2012 on the bus to the Magic Kingdom – I’m registering for the NYC Marathon lottery  – I’m not sure what Jack’s doing…

This photo is my shame and I look at it every single day with disgust to remind myself to BE PRESENT.  Life is short.

Do you remind yourself to be present?  Do you have a shameful moment?

9 Comments on “Learning & Growing: My Big Disney Social Media Mom’s “Aha Moment”

  1. I ALWAYS see this on the Disney bus and I, too am guilty. Always so excited to share what I’m doing and forgetting about those that are with me.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Mother Bear: Running to Stand Still | Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Leave a Reply

RunAllTheRaces

Share Perfect Goofy Gail & Kimberly's adventures as they runDisney and everything in between!

Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Embracing life with a bit of grace, a lot of perseverance and a positive attitude.

From Dancing to Running

Dancer Turned Runner Running My Way Through Life!

margaritasmilesmouse

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Serendipity

Life is full of suprises

