It’s my blog and I’ll brag if I want to….

January 2014 - June 2014

Medals earn January 2014 – June 2014

It’s the end of June and we are half way through 2014!  It’s time to take stock of what I’ve accomplished in my running hobby this year.  Or as my husband likes to say, brag about my medals!

I know, I’m obsessed with running and racing.

6-years ago, I couldn’t even run a mile without stopping.  I started running in the summer of 2008 to cross “running a marathon” off my bucket list.  I was a small business owner with 3 retail locations, 4 business partners and 2 small children.  To say I was stressed out would have been an understatement.

I found comfort in running.  It became my time.  Time for me to escape the pressures of trying to “have it all.”  My time to think about nothing and everything.  My time – not to be a mother or a business owner or a wife – but to just be a PERSON.  To be Kimberly.  To figure out who the heck I was and what I wanted out of my life.

Now as I celebrate my 6th year running on July 7, 2014, I not only celebrate the 15 full marathons and 28 half marathons I’ve run, but I celebrate the person I am now because of the miles I have run.

I now know it is NOT only about the bling – it’s much, much more.  Running has taken a 36-year old woman who was trying to survive not having a nervous breakdown to a 42-year-old SURVIVOR.  Running got me through business lawsuits, personal bankruptcy and most recently breast cancer.

I now know I can survive anything and I can do whatever the heck I want to do.  It’s that simple.

So I’m very thankful to have found running.  And I’m really proud of all I’ve accomplished thus far in 2014.  But it’s time to put these medals aside and focus on training to Boston Qualify.  I can’t wait to earn that PR, I know I have it in me because I can do anything I choose.

  • Total medal count so far for 2014 – 29
  • runDisney medals – 14
  • Half Marathons run – 7
  • Full Marathons run – a disappointing 1 (to quote Jeff Galloway, “it doesn’t have to be…”)
  • 10K’s run – 5
  • 5K’s run – 8
  • New States run – Ohio for a Half
  • New accomplishments – a Duathlon, 1st Glass Slipper, 5th Goofy, 1st Dopey, 1st Ragnar

 Did you accomplish your racing goals in the 1st half of 2014?  What has running done for you?

003

 

8 Comments on “It’s my blog and I’ll brag if I want to….

  1. You are an inspiration Kim! next week I am registering for my first Half..PHM! I am scared, but I know mind over matter I can do it

    Like

Leave a Reply

RunAllTheRaces

Share Perfect Goofy Gail & Kimberly's adventures as they runDisney and everything in between!

Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Embracing life with a bit of grace, a lot of perseverance and a positive attitude.

From Dancing to Running

Dancer Turned Runner Running My Way Through Life!

margaritasmilesmouse

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Serendipity

Life is full of suprises

