Race Report: HMF Red Dress Run 5K

Elizabeth Park's gardens

Elizabeth Park’s gardens

On Saturday, I participated in my first Hartford Marathon Foundation’s Red Dress Run 5K.  This 5K run/walk is a women only event which celebrates women’s fitness.  The course begins and ends in historic Elizabeth Park Rose Garden traveling out of the park and around surrounding roads.  The course is mostly shaded and relatively flat and fast.

I arrived to see the Kid's Race beginning!

I arrived to see the Kid’s Race beginning!

Runners were instructed to park at UConn’s Hartford campus lot for a quick bus ride to the park.  Once we arrived, the scene was festive!  Sponsor’s tents were set up in the clearing.  We had time for some quick photos and potty break before it was time to line up and race!

At the start!

At the start!

I loved the course.  Even though I wasn’t trained to run the 3.1 miles straight through without walking, I decided to push myself and try to set a PR.  Unfortunately, I had to walk twice between miles 2 and 3, but fortunately for me I still managed to set a 5K PR of 28:02 – 9:02 pace!

Members of Team HMF sporting our new kits

Members of Team HMF sporting our new kits

This is a fantastic race to work towards for both the experience runner and newbie.  The event is supportive of walkers and runners of all abilities.  I think it’s the perfect event to bring the entire family.  Kids can race in the Kids Races and husbands can support their partners!

Finisher's bangle

Finisher’s bangle

My favorite part of the race, besides earning a PR, was receiving the beautiful charm bangle as our finisher memento!!

One Comment on “Race Report: HMF Red Dress Run 5K

  1. Pingback: Race Report: Shipyard Old Port Half Marathon | Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Leave a Reply

RunAllTheRaces

Share Perfect Goofy Gail & Kimberly's adventures as they runDisney and everything in between!

Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Embracing life with a bit of grace, a lot of perseverance and a positive attitude.

From Dancing to Running

Dancer Turned Runner Running My Way Through Life!

margaritasmilesmouse

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Serendipity

Life is full of suprises

