Running in Costume at a runDisney Event

362

2014 Disney Princess Half Marathon

I’ve been running in runDisney events since January 2009, but the first time I wore a costume was for the 2013 Princess Half Marathon weekend.  I wouldn’t necessarily call it a costume – it was a tutu with a tiara!  However, adding this new element of dress up to the weekend heightened my excitement for runDisney races!

2013 Disneyland Half Marathon

2013 Disneyland Half Marathon

So should you dress up for a runDisney race?  You don’t have to, but it really makes the races more fun!  Here are some of my favorite photos from my runDisney races.

2014 WDW Half Marathon

2014 WDW Half Marathon

Here are my top tips for running in costume at a runDisney event:

Know the “official rules –  Per the runDisney website, “Are you allowed to wear a costume in runDisney races?  Yes, however, your costume cannot include a face mask. Anyone seen in violation of this will be removed from the course. If your costume is questionable or offensive to others, we reserve the right to either have you change into something more appropriate or remove you from the event.”

2014 Neverland 5K

2014 Neverland 5K

Begin your planning early:  Costumes take time to sew, purchase, and put together.  The more people you include, the more time you’ll need.  runDisney has an entire blog series dedicated to costumes.  Here you can see photos for the Princesses, Maleficent and The Evil Queen.

2013 Tower of Terror 10 Miler

2013 Tower of Terror 10 Miler

Look for inspiration:  Go Google runDisney Running Costumes!  There are so many websites and blogs that are dedicated to runDisney.  Here are a few of my favorites:  According to Kelly and   This Momma Makes Stuff Snow White Tutorial  This Momma Makes Stuff Sleeping Beauty Tutorial – I made and wore both these costumes at the 2014 Princess Half Marathon Weekend 5K and 10K.  Here’s  some more from my runDisney inspiration Pinterest Board.

2013 Jingle Jungle 5K

2013 Jingle Jungle 5K

Remember you are going to be RUNNING:  I’ve seen many fancy costumes tossed to the side of the road during a race.  I don’t run in my costume prior to the race, but I do make sure my costumes are made to withstand a half marathon and that means using tech light-wicking fabrics.  If sewing isn’t your thing, my favorite one-stop shop is Sparkle Athletic.  Another is Sparkle Skirts and Raw Threads.  Remember these vendors will be at the runDisney expo so if you decide the last minute to dress up – you will have options!

2013 Disneyland 5K

2013 Disneyland 5K

Try it out:  I don’t do a test run, but I do sit, go to the bathroom, get dressed myself in my costume prior to race day.  No one, and this includes your family, wants to help you into your costume at 3am.  It’s best you can do it yourself – family members then to be cranky at 3 in the morning….

2014 Disney Princess 5K

2014 Disney Princess 5K

Don’t stress:  runDisney is supposed to be for fun – remember you can always purchase a costume!!!  Some of my favorites include iGlowRunning, ThisPrincessRuns,  and Harvester Products.  Don’t forget about online costume shops like Spirit Halloween and Amazon.com

2013 Tower of Terror 10 Miler

2013 Tower of Terror 10 Miler

 What are some of your favorite places to find runDisney costumes?  What’s the best costume you have seen on-course? 

6 Comments on “Running in Costume at a runDisney Event

  1. The guy who ran the Dopey with a tuba was amazing. And the one who ran as Lumiere with electric candles on his hands.

    Like

  2. Ha Ha I didn’t know that I was in someone’s blog until someone tagged me in a Facebook RunDisney group! I’ve done several Disney races but the Russell costume was my first. It was a performance wicking shirt and a runner’s hat but the shorts were Carhartt canvas. I wore compression shorts underneath to prevent chafing.

    Like

  3. I love seeing everyone’s costumes, people are so creative! I’ve only really done “simple” costumes, but I’ve tried really hard to do things I’ve never seen anyone else do at a race – our Newsies for a great reaction Marathon Weekend!

    My husband and I are doing something simple for the DL 10k that I think is fun : )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

RunAllTheRaces

Share Perfect Goofy Gail & Kimberly's adventures as they runDisney and everything in between!

Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Embracing life with a bit of grace, a lot of perseverance and a positive attitude.

From Dancing to Running

Dancer Turned Runner Running My Way Through Life!

margaritasmilesmouse

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Serendipity

Life is full of suprises

