Race Report: Surftown Half Marathon

With Perfectly Goofy Gail before the start of Surftown Half

With Perfectly Goofy Gail before the start of Surftown Half

Hartford Marathon Foundation’s Surftown Half Marathon is quickly becoming one of my favorite races.  This was my second time running the course – I had run it last year.  In my opinion it’s a race that is 100% worth a drive to experience.  Please note a 5K race is also offered after the start of the half.

Prior to the start

Prior to the start – potty line…

Surftown Half Marathon takes place along the streets of Misquamicut Beach and Watch Hill, Rhode Island.  It offers beach and ocean views and a flat and fast course (except for 1 little hill at mile 10).

Napping...

Napping…

Joining me on my run of Surftown Half was my pal, Perfectly Goofy Gail, in town on business from Arizona.  We left my house, just outside of Hartford, Connecticut at 4:30am in order to get to packet pick up at 6am.  Since it was an hour and a half drive to the race, I wore my PR Soles to drive.  Unfortunately, I had forgotten to put my running shoes in the car!  It was a good thing I remember while still in town…

Race shoes!

Race shoes!

Traffic was non-existent and we made great time even stopping for gas.  We arrived a little after packet pick up opening.  We quickly picked up our number, tech shirt and bag.  We got to use the potties and then Gail & I settled in for a 45-minute nap prior to race start.

Starting line...

Starting line…

The races were both sold out.  The start-line was full of energy and the music kept us pumped.  The wheelchair athletes started racing first and soon we were off!  Having both run the day prior – Gail ran a Half Marathon and I ran a training run of 14-miles – our legs were a little tired.  We started off running 2-minutes and walking 30-seconds, but somewhere in mile 2 when we were run/walking a 9:27 mile we decided we did not have the energy to keep this pace and switched down to a 1 minute run and 30 second walk.  We managed to keep ourselves at a 11:11 pace the entire race.

Finishers of the Surftown Half Marathon

Finishers of the Surftown Half Marathon

We finished the race in 2:27.  No where near a PR, but not at all bad for racing on tired legs!  After our race, we decided to celebrate with a visit to Sloppy Waffle located on the Berlin Turnpike in Newington!

Sloppy Waffles

Sloppy Waffles

One of my favorite things about the Surftown Half is the surfboard medal.  I’m proud to add it to my collection.  I’m also a big fan of all the 2014 HMF tech shirts.  The techs are available in both men’s and ladies sizes and the designs have been exceptional this year.  I would highly recommend this race to those wanting a PR, a racecation or even a really cool medal!

33rd race of 2014 and my 31st half marathon

33rd race of 2014 and my 31st half marathon

Did you earn a Surftown Half surfboard?  Is this race on your #buck-list?

Leave a Reply

RunAllTheRaces

Share Perfect Goofy Gail & Kimberly's adventures as they runDisney and everything in between!

Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Embracing life with a bit of grace, a lot of perseverance and a positive attitude.

From Dancing to Running

Dancer Turned Runner Running My Way Through Life!

margaritasmilesmouse

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Serendipity

Life is full of suprises

