Breast Cancer at 41 – The Bells and Whistles

703Finally after a year and a half, the long road of my breast cancer reconstruction is finally complete.  What you must realize, I have been extremely lucky.  Unlike others, I have not had any infections.  I have not had any complications.  My surgeries and my recovery have gone to plan – knock on wood.

Timeline:

  • April 2013 Lump found through self-exam
  • June 21, 2013 Mammogram & ultrasound
  • July 2, 2013 Ultrasound guided biopsy
  • July 8, 2013 Breast cancer diagnosis
  • July 30, 2013 Bi-lateral mastectomy with reconstruction (tissue expanders)
  • July 2013 – January 2014 chemotherapy and gradual expansion of skin w/saline
  • February 25, 2014 – Complete hysterectomy with breast reconstruction (permanent implants)
  • August 1, 2014 Nipple reconstruction
  • January 22, 2015 Areola tattoos

Nipple and areola reconstruction are the last stages of breast reconstruction and must be done after the implant reconstruction has healed.  Although these procedures are purely cosmetic I thought them to be necessary to help give my breast a more natural look and to somewhat hide the mastectomy scars (ha, ha, ha – it’s pretty hard to hide scars that cut each breast in half).

Of all my reconstruction bandage photos, this is my favorite.  I would totally rock this bandage bandeau.

Of all my reconstruction bandage photos, this is my favorite. I would totally rock this bandage bandeau.

I had my nipple reconstruction on August 1, 2014, five months after my implant reconstruction.  It was an outpatient procedure where my skin was formed into a nipple shape and stitches were used to secure the form of the nipple.  The recovery was easy and my only limitations were 3 weeks off from running and swimming.

Although my plastic surgeon had suggested me going to a tattoo artist to have my areola tattoos done, I couldn’t wrap my head around THAT experience and chose to schedule my appointment with my plastic surgeon in his office – heck I had met my insurance deductible January 2nd  why would I go elsewhere?  However, when the appointment finally came and the nurse told me the tattoo machine wasn’t working, I decided to change my plans.

Months earlier this story on Little Vinnie’s Tattoo shop in Maryland had been sent to me:

http://www.nytimes.com/video/health/100000002915699/the-nipple-artist.html. 

I decided to call Little Vinnie’s Tattoo Shop to schedule an appointment.  Paul Bessette answered the shop’s phone, my questions and soon I had an appointment to go to Finksburg.

Little Vinnie's Tattoo shop

Little Vinnie’s Tattoo shop

On Thursday, January 22nd I walked into Little Vinnie’s Tattoo shop.  I was promptly greeted, filled out the necessary paperwork and soon it was time to get inked.  Paul accessed the situation, used plastic nipples for placement and size, and Sharpied the outlines.  After a quick artistic consultation with Vinnie, we were on our way.

Paul mixing ...

Paul getting ready…

Paul mixed the ink and we decided on colors.  Then it was time to begin.  Because my breasts were removed and replaced with implants, I didn’t feel the needle UNTIL he worked on specific areas – and the pain was NOT felt in the area being inked.  And really the pain was nothing.

I cannot say enough positive things about my experience.  Every single person I encountered at the shop was professional.  Heck, they’ve seen it all.  They were respectful and I know they felt they were actually making a difference in women’s lives. After my reconstruction, I felt like a nipple less freak.  I didn’t feel sexy.  I didn’t feel like myself.  I felt incomplete naked.  Having my nipples reconstructed was my first step to me feeling back to normal, but having my nipple tattoos was the icing on the cake.

As we began Paul said to me, “…I want you to look in the mirror and smile.”

When I was watching him work in the mirror and I saw the almost complete tattoo, my demeanor changed.  I smiled.  I leaned back into the chair and I got back my swagger.

And now when I look in the mirror at my naked reconstructed body, I smile.  I smile through tears of joy.

With Paul Bessette

With Paul Bessette

Click here to find more information about Paul Bessette and The Vinnie Myers Team.

4 Comments on “Breast Cancer at 41 – The Bells and Whistles

  1. Kim, sharing your experience is so brave and so honest. You continue to inspire me and come whatwill this year, i will always refer to you as my teammate and friend. Thank you for telling your story.

    Like

  2. Pretty part of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and
    in accession capital to say that I acquire actually enjoyed account
    your weblog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feeds or even I fulfillment you get right of entry to persistently rapidly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

RunAllTheRaces

Share Perfect Goofy Gail & Kimberly's adventures as they runDisney and everything in between!

Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Embracing life with a bit of grace, a lot of perseverance and a positive attitude.

From Dancing to Running

Dancer Turned Runner Running My Way Through Life!

margaritasmilesmouse

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Serendipity

Life is full of suprises

