My 2015 Race Calendar & Jeff Galloway’s Injury Prevention Tips

It's difficult to make plans during the long winter...

It’s difficult to make plans during the long winter…

Now that April is upon us, I finally have my 2015 Race Calendar set.  And even though I swore and promised my coach I would NOT run as many races as last year – see 2014’s Race Calendar – I still have 50 races currently on the 2015 roster (of which I’ve already run 17 races:  2 Full Marathons, 3 Halfs, 3 10K’s, 1 5-miler, 8 5k’s).

With Jeff on the Disney Dream

With Jeff on the Disney Dream

I sat down with my coach for a 1:1 during the Princess Castaway Cay Challenge Cruise in February, where we discussed both short-term and long-term goals.  My short-term goal is to break 2-hrs for a half marathon.  My long-term goal is to BQ (Boston Qualify).  All races were vetted and I have some changes to make to my schedule – specifically throwing out some half marathons in place of a full or using the half marathon race distance towards a long run.  (For instance, June 7th my coach has me running 27-miles.)

So my race schedule and my running is a work in progress.  I’ve been working on my speed and am beginning to see progress.  I look forward to sharing my race journey with you throughout the year.  Also, as you ramp up your running for 2015 be careful not to over do it (pot calling the kettle black)!  I’ve included Jeff Galloway’s Tips for Avoiding injury.

Jeff giving a pep talk prior to the start of the Princess Castaway Cay Challenge 5K

Jeff giving a pep talk prior to the start of the Princess Castaway Cay Challenge 5K

 

Jeff Galloway’s Tips:  

Why do we get injured?

Be aware of irritation of weak links.

The Key Weak Links are body parts where my runners tend to experience injuries are these: Knees – Feet -Calf – Achilles -Hip – Glute/piriformis/sciaticia

But the body parts that YOU need to be aware of are the sites where you are injured or suffer more aches and pains.

So if you’re sensitive to the first indication of irritation in these areas and take immediate action it’s possible to avoid injury.

 Stress buildup due to the way we train.

  • Training schedule is too intense-not enough rest between stress.
  • Adverse Training Components-speed is too fast or has too much, too soon.
  • Running form-too long a stride, forward lean, bouncing too high off the ground.

So staying focused on the way one runs and following these guidelines, can often allow runners to maintain a manageable increase without injury

Top 5 ways to avoid stress buildup-and avoid injuries

  1.  Take walk breaks more frequently, and run shorter run segments
  2. Form: shorter stride, feet low to the ground
  3. Slower long runs, with more walk breaks
  4. Avoid Stretching
  5. Be careful when running speed sessions

What’s on your 2015 Race Calendar?  What’s you tip for avoiding injury?

2 Comments on “My 2015 Race Calendar & Jeff Galloway’s Injury Prevention Tips

  1. I wish I had a clone! I’d send them to the office 😉 Honestly, I have a extremely supportive family and a husband who golfs, but what I have been trying to do is involve the entire family into my racing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

RunAllTheRaces

Share Perfect Goofy Gail & Kimberly's adventures as they runDisney and everything in between!

Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Embracing life with a bit of grace, a lot of perseverance and a positive attitude.

From Dancing to Running

Dancer Turned Runner Running My Way Through Life!

margaritasmilesmouse

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Serendipity

Life is full of suprises

