Another Mother Runner Retreat Report – Day 1

2012 Disneyland Half Marathon Expo

Look – I even have the tech, 2012 Disneyland Half Marathon Expo

I consider myself to be a BAMR – Bad Ass Mother Runner.  I have been following Another Mother Runner since I read their book review in SELF Magazine.  I ripped out the page and drove right out to the bookstore to purchase their first book, Run Like A Mother – How to Get Moving – and Not Lose Your Family, Job or Sanity in 2010.  At the time, I was new to running, was training alone and needed to find people who understood why I was running and its importance to me and my family’s well-being.

Rocking my Badass Mother Runner tech at my 1st Dopey Challenge

Rocking my Badass Mother Runner tech at my 1st Dopey Challenge (completed the week after my last chemo treatment)

I connected with the Mother Runners right away.  But I fell in love with them when I downloaded and listened to 22-hours of AMR podcasts on the drive from Connecticut to Walt Disney World and have been deep into their tribe ever since.  So when AMR announced they were hosting their first-ever AMR Retreat: Run + Refresh I was excited, but chest-fallen.  I knew I wouldn’t be able to attend because I had already blown my running budget for the year.

Thank you nuun hydration!

Thank you nuun hydration!

Cut to Friday, February 27th:  The Disney Dream arrived back in port and I to cell service.  Once my phone had recovered downloading a few days of texts and emails. It took me another 10 minutes to discover nuun hydration had been trying to reach me to tell me I was the winner of their AMR Retreat Giveaway.  I had won a spot for me and a friend to the AMR Run: Retreat + Refresh.  I was FLOORED – I was going to A-R-K-A-N-S-A-S for Spring Break!

Capital Hotel Room

Capital Hotel Room

I was excited to invite one of my favorite running buddies, Perfectly Goofy Gail, to join me for the weekend.  She had never been to a running retreat or the great state of Arkansas either.  And although Gail does not have human children, only fur babies, I knew she would enjoy the weekend as well.  Regardless of how the weekend went, we knew we were going to love sleeping in our Capital Hotel room!  Note:  When we run the Little Rock Marathon, we will be staying at the Capital Hotel. 

460 (2)

Registration

The retreat began on Thursday, April 16th with Registration and a Welcome Reception from 4:15pm to 6pm.  We met in the Mezzanine where we picked up our swag and snack bags.

Swag Bag 1

Swag Bag 1

We received our Another Mother t-shirts and swag from nuun, GU, Action Wipes, KT Tape, belega, Pro Compression, and Hyland’s Calms Forte as well as discount codes for savings from all the partners.

463 (2)

Swag Bag 2: nuun, Gu, KT Tap, balega, Pro Compression, Calms Forte, Action Wipes

Then we were welcomed by the team, Dimity and Sara to Little Rock.  We took turns introducing ourselves to our new BRF’s. With that the weekend was officially kicked off and we were let loose to explore Little Rock.

SBS and Dimity kicking off the weekend.

SBS and Dimity kicking off the weekend.

Next up…AMR Retreat Report – Day 2

One Comment on “Another Mother Runner Retreat Report – Day 1

Leave a Reply

RunAllTheRaces

Share Perfect Goofy Gail & Kimberly's adventures as they runDisney and everything in between!

Maker Mother Marathon Runner

Embracing life with a bit of grace, a lot of perseverance and a positive attitude.

From Dancing to Running

Dancer Turned Runner Running My Way Through Life!

margaritasmilesmouse

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Serendipity

Life is full of suprises

